Deutsch | English

El Ocaso

Every week tango dancers of all levels and all ages come to dance in a relaxed and welcoming social atmosphere. Great value is placed by the organisers on good quality dancable music, principally from the Golden Era of tango music. A good quality dance floor, lighting and audio equipment as well as a good bar also contribute to the wonderful experience that is El Ocaso.

 

James Bates and Frank Seifart

James Bates and Frank Seifart began enchanting tango event guests together with their music. This productive cooperation lead to many regular weekly and special events. Important milestones in this cooperation were the Tango Social Club and Cafe Dominguez.

In November 2012 „El Ocaso“ was created and the idea of a weekly milonga, where music from the Epoca de Oro is given prominent importance, became a reality. Quickly it developed into a well frequented milonga. In October 2013 weekly tango classes and a practica were added to the programme.

 

Serena Alvarado and Alonso Alvarez

Serena Alvarado was born in Germany, but grew up in Colombia, where she was deeply influenced by that country's musical expressiveness and diversity. She has been fascinated by Colombiajn Salsa since childhood. Later, after moving back to Hamburg in Germany, she immersed herself in tango, and met Alonso, with whom she has been dancing for more than two years. In 2015, Serena spent 5 months in Buenos Aires, where she intensified and deepened her knowledge of tango. She studied with Paola Sanz and Facundo de la Cruz, Clarisa Aragón and Jonathan Saavedra, Natalia Games and Gabriel Angio, Aurora Lubiz, among others. In Tango Salón, Serena is particularly fascinated by the many opportunities for common musical expression inside the embrace, as well by its social character.

Alonso Alvarez comes from Mexico City, where he grew up. As a child he learned and danced many dances from Mexican folklore. Dancing was a daily occurrence in his family. In Hamburg he began dancing Tango Salón with his first teacher Alejandro Sanguineti. In 2014 Alonso became German champion of Tango Salón, which allowed him to travel to Buenos Aires and takr part in the world championships 2014 for the first time. In Buenos Aires, he studied with Facundo de la Cruz & Paola Sanz, Ariel Manzanares & Antonella Sarago, Sebastián Achával & Roxana Suarez, Natalia Games & Gabriel Angio among others.

 

Frank Seifart

I started dancing tango in 1998. After my first steps with a determined and ambitious argentine teacher, my path, after some experimentation, ultimately led me back to traditional music. During my journey teachers such as Miguel Zotto, Carlos Perez, El "Chino" Perico, Francisco Forquera, Carolina Bonaventura, Fabian Peralta and Natacha Poberaj took me under their wing. Through them I developed a sense of aesthetics in tango dancing, which continues to bind and enchant me. Since 2003 I have been intensely focused on music, which allowed me to become a DJ and event organizer since 2005. After my 15-year as physical trainer, I have become a tango teacher since 2005, continuing my own further education in tango ever since, thus enabling me to a acquire a solid base for my work as teacher.

As a tango teacher, event organizer, and DJ I am positively possessed of my desire to bring my love for tango culture as close as possible to my students and guests.
 

James Bates

James has been around argentine tango since 1999 as a dancer, DJ and organizer. He toured extensively in Europe and Argentina and learned to dance with Sebastian Misse, Osvaldo Zotto, Geraldine Rojas, Joana Copes and Sebastian Achaval among others. Since 2003 he has become a well-established tango DJ. In his birthtown of Brussels, he built up a wide and varied repertoire while maintaining a solid quality base throughout. In Brussels, he founded and organized two succesful regular milongas ("Una Emocion", "Bien Pulenta"). In Berlin he now co-hosts Café Dominguez and El Ocaso. In addition he is a regular guest DJ in many milongas and tango balls throughout Europe (Köln, Düsseldorf, Mannheim, Hamburg, Geneva, Vienna, Bregenz, Paris, Prag, Warsaw, Łódź, Odessa, Lviv, Edinburgh, ...).

 

Monica Șuteu

I grew up in a musical family, where music was always present. I enjoyed an intesive musical education for many years, during which I first came into contact with tango. For quite a while, tango music accompanied me, before I started to learn to dance tango. Music continued to play a capital role even then. The richness and complexity of tango music, in particular that of the Edad de Oro, mesmerizes me, as a dancer as well as at the DJ controls.

The right tango music sends my directly to the dancefloor, where I surrender to the music. It fills me with emotion and joy, to notice on peoples' faces and in their dance that I can evoke the same spell with my selection.

Deutsch | English

El Ocaso

Im Mittelpunkt der wöchentlichen Veranstaltung steht eine entspannte und offene Atmosphäre für alle Tänzer, unabhängig von Tanzniveau und Alter. Gut tanzbare Tangomusik aus der Epoca de Oro, ein gutes Soundsystem, ein guter Holzboden und die gut ausgestattete Bar machen "El Ocaso" zu einem besonderen Erlebnis für jeden Tangoliebhaber.

 

James Bates und Frank Seifart

James Bates und Frank Seifart begannen gemeinsam 2009 mit ihrer Musik die Gäste von Tangoveranstaltungen zu begeistern. Diese produktive Zusammenarbeit setzte sich in vielen wöchentlichen, regulären und Sonderveranstaltungen fort. Wichtige Meilensteine waren die Zusammenarbeit im Tango Social Club und im Cafe Dominguez.

Im November 2012 wurde „El Ocaso“ gegründet und die Idee einer wöchentlichen Milonga, die sich hauptsächlich der Musik der Epoca de Oro widmet, wurde Wirklichkeit. Schnell wurde daraus eine gut besuchte Milonga. Im Oktober 2013 wurden die wöchentlichen Tangokurse und die Practica in das Programm aufgenommen.

 

Serena Alvarado und Alonso Alvarez

Serena Alvarado ist in Deutschland geboren jedoch in Kolumbien aufgewachsen, ein Land dessen musikalische Vielfalt sie zutiefst prägte. Vor allem die Kolumbianische Salsa faszinierte sie schon seit ihrer Kindheit. Mit dem Tango begann sie erst später in Hamburg, die Stadt in der sie auch Alonso kennenlernte und mit dem sie nun seit über zwei Jahre zusammen tanzt. Im Jahr 2015 reiste Serena für 5 Monate nach Buenos Aires um ihre Tango Kenntnisse zu vertiefen. Dort nahm sie Unterricht mit Paola Sanz und Facundo de la Cruz, Clarisa Aragón und Jonathan Saavedra, Natalia Games und Gabriel Angio, Aurora Lubiz unter anderen. Vor allem die Möglichkeit eines gemeinsamen Musikalischen Ausdrucks innerhalb der Umarmung sowie der soziale Charakter faszinieren Serena besonders am Tango de Salón.

Alonso Alvarez kommt aus Mexiko Stadt und ist auch in Mexiko aufgewachsen. In Mexiko hat Alonso schon als Kind die Volkstänze Mexikos gelernt und getanzt. In seiner Familie gehörte das Tanzen zum Alltag. In Hamburg hat er bei seinem ersten Lehrer Alejandro Sanguineti mit Tango Salón angefangen. 2014 ist Alonso Deutscher Meister im Tango Salón geworden, dies hat ihm den ersten Aufenthalt in Buenos Aires und die Teilnahme an der Weltmeisterschaft 2014 ermöglicht. Dort nahm er Unterricht bei Facundo de la Cruz & Paola Sanz, Ariel Manzanares & Antonella Sarago, Sebastián Achával & Roxana Suarez, Natalia Games & Gabriel Angio unter anderen.

 

Frank Seifart

Mit dem Tango Tanzen begann ich 1998. Nach den ersten Schritten mit einem strengen und ambitionierten argentinischen Lehrer führte mein Weg über einige Experimente wieder zum traditionellen Tango zurück. Auf meiner Suche prägten mich Lehrer wie Miguel Zotto, Carlos Perez, El "Chino" Perico, Francisco Forquera, Carolina Bonaventura, Fabian Peralta und Natacha Poberaj. Durch diese lernte ich eine Ästhetik im Tango Tanzen kennen, die mich sehr ergriff und mich immer mehr begeistert. Seit 2003 beschäftige ich mich intensiv mit der Musik und bin in Folge seit 2005 als DJ und Veranstalter aktiv. Nach meiner fünfzehnjährigen Tätigkeit als ehrenamtlicher Trainer arbeite ich seit 2005 als Tangolehrer und habe mich im Laufe der Jahre immer weiter gebildet und mir dadurch eine solide Grundlage als Lehrer geschaffen.

Als Tangolehrer, Veranstalter und DJ liegt es mir am Herzen, meinen Schülern und Gästen meine Faszination von der und meiner Liebe zur Tangokultur nahe zu bringen.
 

James Bates

James befasst sich mit dem Tango Argentino seit 1999 als Tänzer, DJ und Veranstalter. Er unternahm zahlreiche Touren durch Europa und Argentinien, und nahm Unterricht unter anderen bei Sebastian Misse, Osvaldo Zotto, Geraldine Rojas, Joana Copes und Sebastian Achaval. Seit 2003 ist er ein etablierter Tango DJ. In seiner Heimatstadt Brüssel baute er sich ein breites und variantenreiches Repertoire auf und erhielt die solide Grundlage: seine Qualität. In Brüssel veranstaltete er auch zwei erfolgreiche wöchentliche Milongas ("Una Emocion", "Bien Pulenta"). In Berlin veranstaltet er nun Café Dominguez und El Ocaso mit. Auch ist er ein häufiger Gast-DJ auf den Milongas europaweit (Köln, Düsseldorf, Mannheim, Hamburg, Genf, Wien, Bregenz, Paris, Prag, Warschau, Łódź, Odessa, Lviv, Edinburgh, ...).

 

Monica Șuteu

Ich wuchs in einer Musikerfamilie auf, in der diese Kunst immer präsent war, und genoss eine langjährige intensive musikalische Ausbildung, während der ich auch mit dem Tango zum ersten Mal in Berührung kam. Die Tangomusik begleitete mich noch eine ganze Weile, bevor ich begann, das Tangotanzen zu erlernen. Dabei spielte die Musik weiterhin eine sehr wichtige Rolle. Der Reichtum und die Komplexität der Tango Musik, vor allem der Edad de Oro, packten mich und ließen mich nicht mehr los, anfangs als Tänzerin und später auch am DJ-Pult.

Die richtige Tangomusik schickt mich auf die Tanzfläche, wo ich mich ihr hingeben muss. Es berührt mich und macht mich glücklich, wenn ich an den Gesichtern und am Tanz erkenne, dass ich das Gleiche mit meiner Auswahl bei den Gästen erreichen kann.